Search   
 
 
 
Writers
borndied
1516/15171587, Apr 18
an English historian and martyrologist, the author of Actes and Monuments (popularly known as Foxe's Book of Martyrs), an account of Christian martyrs throughout Western history but emphasizing the sufferings of English Protestants and proto-Protestants from the fourteenth century through the reign of Mary I. Widely owned and read by English Puritans, the book helped mould British popular opinion about the Catholic Church for several centuries.
 Gallery (1)

Thumbnail
 Mentions (1)
Thomas Beard
...first appeared in 1597; a work in the tradition of John Foxe's Acts and Monuments, it was popular, plagiarised...
Colonial Sense is an advocate for global consumer privacy rights, protection and security.
All material on this website © copyright 2009-20 by Colonial Sense, except where otherwise indicated.
ref:T5-S50-P1196-CPerson-M